Follow

HOW TO: USING THE DATA TRANSFER TOOL - External Storage Transfer Mode

There are two transfer methods available, Network Connection Transfer and External Storage Transfer. This article explains the External Storage Transfer Mode.

Using the External Storage Transfer Mode to Backup

External Storage Transfer mode connects and transfer to external storage drives such as network attached storage, network mapped drives and USB, firewire, thunderbolt drives.

 

Step 1 – Run Data Transfer on the Source PC.

  • On the source PC, launch an instance of the Data Transfer app.
  • From the main menu, select External Storage

 

 

Step 2 – Select files to backup

  • Next, select the file locations to transfer. For convenience, we have provided seven common user folders.

 

  • To select other folders, click the + button and select folders as needed.

 

The Data Transfer tool will create a folder/file manifest, calculate the total disk size requirements and then prompt to select the external drive to transfer the files to.

 

 

Step 3 – Select external drive to transfer to and click start transfer

  • Next, select the external drive and click start transfer

 

 

Step 4 – Once the transfer is complete, close the app.

  

 

 

 

Using the External Storage Transfer Mode to Restore

Step 1 – Run Data Transfer on the destination pc.

  • On the source PC, launch an instance of the Data Transfer app.
  • From the main menu, select External Storage

  

Step 2 – Select Restore

  • Next select Restore.

 

 

Step 3 – Select the external storage location for the source

  • Select from available external storage locations and then select the select button

 

Step 4 – Identify and select the  backup instance desired.

  • Select from available backup instances and then click the select button

 

 For advanced options, click the adv mode and select/deselect files as needed.

 

Step 5 – Select the destination drive

  • Finally, select the destination drive. The backup will restore all files and folders to the exact structure as it was when it was backed up.

 

Step 6 – Exit app

  • Once the transfer is complete, exit the app.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.